The Loose Cannon

Just another WordPress.com site

~All men ARE created equal~

On a day when we celebrate equality in this great country of ours I thought it appropriate to also celebrate the opening of my blog. For those of you who know me, know that I’ve got a lot to say and only a lifetime to say it. I’ll preface this initial commentary in saying that you may not agree with me on all things. In fact, I can guarantee you won’t.

Now, for those who do not know me and have stumbled across this by accident or on purpose. I invite you to read my bio     https://marcuspcannon.wordpress.com/about/

The short version can be found here: I’m a Mid 30’s, Southern Born, Southern Bred Country Boy from Conyers, Georgia. I’m highly opinionated, yet open-minded as well as tolerant to new ideas and welcome them. I don’t follow rules well and I do “My own thang”. If you’re a grammar queen then you’re going to be irritated constantly. 2 reasons: I’m awful at it and most of the people I surround myself with are too. So, if you’re new to me stick around a while and become “Marcus P, Cannonized” .

I’m going to try my best to make sure this blog is fun, informative, challenging, convicting and growing for us all. This will be a place where I’ll express my Christianity, political views as well as my humor. So if you’re offended at anytime then send your complaints via prayer to the Big Man upstairs, via letter or email to 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. Washington D.C. or you can simply respond to my postings.  We’ll talk a lot about cooking, art, music, The Bible, Ups and Downs and countless other things that don’t amount to much more than a hill of beans in the grand scheme of life.

In any event I would like to start by posting something that I struggle with: Equality. This is a posting I felt it necessary to share on Facebook and would like to reiterate and expound on it just a bit.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

“Over the course of time we, humanity, has fallen short and we’ve most certainly failed at the most important gift we’ve been divinely given. That’s loving one another. Each person – Black, White, Latino, Asian, Arabic and all those in between have been designed to harbor a genuine respect, to honor, to cherish and to Love without apprehension those around us and those we’ll never lay eyes on.

As a younger man I didn’t carry that respect for those of different nationalities, cultures and colors out of bigotry. Not bigotry of a personal nature because I’ve always had friends of different colors and creeds. But bigotry of generalizations. If I’m transparent I still harbor those today and I can say that I’m not proud of that. My prayer is to be more tolerant and understanding as well as less generalizing. 

On this day when we remember a man who stood for fair chances and equalization of all humanity I’d like to pray this prayer: Father God, please soften the hearts of those who struggle with bigotry, hatred and prejudgment of character…Including me. You didn’t call us to only reach the white, the rich, the straight, the Jews, the idolatrous or the non believers. You called us to reach the world. Lead and guide me to do just that, Father. We’re all Your children and You love us all just the same….Please breed into me the same ideal that I am to love those all over the world the same and as Your children. In Your Holy Name I pray. 

Matthew 22:34-40
The Greatest Commandment

34 Hearing that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, the Pharisees got together. 35 One of them, an expert in the law, tested him with this question: 36 “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?”
37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[a] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[b] 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

God Bless You All My Brothers and Sisters.”

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Having grown up in the south the culture has always been that of separatism. The whole “There goes the neighborhood” is still a prevalent term, sadly. I’ve used it, SADLY.  Today in this age there are equal amounts of blame to go around. Bigotry, hatred and non-acceptance are prevalent everywhere. Not just in white communities but in black, Asian, Latino and other ethnic communities as well. I wasn’t alive in the 60’s so I can’t speak for those times but it appears in ways that our country isn’t growing in a positive light on the matter of equality.

If we follow the example Christ set forth on how to treat people then the “issue” of equality wouldn’t be an issue at all. Even for you none believers out there. I’d just like to ask each of you on this day to remember that we’re different no matter the color of our skin. God branded us uniquely in his image.  So the white person sitting next to the white person are two totally different people…Same as the black person sitting next to the black person and on down the line.

In any event my prayers today are for quality here, there and around the world.

Until the next slip of the tongue, Thank you for visiting “Gullible’s Travels

Regards,

The Loose Cannon

 

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “~All men ARE created equal~

  1. Keith Peavy on said:

    Good stuff Marc. I appreciate you inviting us along for the travel.

  2. I have to agree with you… We are commanded to love one another as your self. The issue I have is the equality issue. It is not equal for everyone. It is for certian groups and continues to be that way. I eould encourage people of all walks of life to take the time to listen to the “I have a dream” speach… It was not just geard to people of color… It was to all people. How ever over time the issues of equality have been bent and twisted to target and help certian groups… This is just my observation from the last 40 years. I enjpoyed your writing and will follow allong. That is all….

  3. Heather Eubanks on said:

    Enjoyed reading this today. Looking forward to the next.

  4. lynne van buul on said:

    Very good read. I’m not sure if you knew, but I’m a blogger with the Loganville-Grayson Patch, mostly about medical research, anti-aging without surgery, etc. Writing is certainly my Passion.
    I look forward to reading more from you soon!

  5. John Herring on said:

    Alright im checked urs out. Now you gotta check mine out. Oconeeriverrat WordPress. Lemmme know what ya think. Good first post. Keep it up.

  6. Good stuff my brotha!

  7. I’ll be dang..Marcus P Cannon done wrote himself a blog post. LOVE it bro. I’m gonna be following you. I’m a subscriber. So..don’t give up..keep it coming! (Great thoughts on equality, by the way.)

  8. i am so glad you finally gave in and got yourself a blog, mr. loose cannon. love your writing and your wit.

    keep posting..even if nobody comments, we are still reading, friend. just sometimes too lazy to comment. 🙂

    God bless ya, friend.

    jill hill

    • I can’t believe how fun this is! I’ve enjoyed it so much it’s really something I look forward to doing each day. Not only does it give me an outlet to share my thoughts on things but I’m reaching people. Thanks for the encouragement. Come on back because I do have a lot to say 😉

Leave a Reply

