The Loose Cannon

Just another WordPress.com site

~ Be AWARE, don’t beware ~

Webster’s definitions of ‘Beware’  & ‘Aware’ are strikingly similar. But in the real world I see both words as worlds apart.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Definition of BEWARE

intransitive verb
: to be on one’s guard <beware of the dog>
transitive verb
1
: to take care of <beware your wallet>
2
: to be wary of beware the exceedingly tenuous generalization — Matthew Lipman>
_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Definition of AWARE

1
archaic : watchfulwary
2
: having or showing realization, perception, or knowledge
— aware·ness noun
_____________________________________________________________________________________________
Let me ask you a question.
-How are you living your life? I don’t mean where you live, what you eat, what you drive or what you drink (Although, those things are important) – Really, take a minute and answer this question. To yourself, out loud or to someone else. How are you living life? Are you living in fear? Are you in the “Beware” category of life?
You know what I’m talking about: Waking up in the morning worried that you won’t finish well for the day. Scared of the shadows of life – Bills, relationships, lacking what the world tells you is important. If I’m honest with you, and I’m going to be very transparent on this blog, I’m living in the “Beware” most of the time.  I’m not a worrier per say, but I’m constantly paralyzed by my fears. There are signs that read “Beware” stamped on most every aspect of my life. Throughout my life I’ve more often than not faced those signs and just taken a different path or refused to choose a path at all because there just may be something to that fear.
The “Beware” is a lonely yet very crowded place. It’s the place where you’re constantly “Bewaring” of fears and you’re keenly aware of them all.
I struggle daily with my own self contrived inadequacies. These words constantly ring in my ears Beware Marc: you’re not good enough for that person, you don’t possess the skills for that job, you’re a sinner so you can’t serve the Lord like he has planned for you”.
I tried so long to cover the “Beware” in my life to appear stronger than I really am. But I tell you the truth, my “Beware” is out there…
THEN! There are some of you who live in the “Aware” side of life.  This is where I strive to be daily and I crave with all my being to be.  The “Aware” side of life is that place where you’re keenly aware of everything around you without fear. You know: How you affect others, how you enjoy a meal, how you see what’s going on around you soaking it in…Good or bad. It’s the way the grass smells after it’s cut, the pavement smells after the rain, the way a sunset looks in the spring, summer, fall and winter.  It’s the words of a song or the texture of certain stroke of a paint brush on your favorite manipulated canvas, a kiss, a hug or a handshake. It’s the little things that matter!
Those who live in the “Aware” know exactly where they are…It’s in the present. It’s in the moment…It’s not worrying about tomorrow or living in a regret from the past.  Those are the people who reach others on a level that changes lives. They lead, they follow, they listen and they Love.
I believe that every soul placed upon this earth craves, yearns and is created to live this way. There is good news…We can ALL live in the “Aware”! There is a saying “Walk in another man’s shoes”. You can live in the “Aware” by living through that statement. Try walking in Christ’s shoes (Okay, his sandals) and I promise you that what you’re aware of daily, hourly and minute by minute will change and change how you live life.

Whether or not you’re a Christian or not you cannot deny the way Christ lived his life.  It was utterly, totally and fully in the “Aware”! He lived passionately, Loved completely, learned humbly, and left boldly. He reached people and was keenly aware of what was happening around him at all times. That is how I want to live every second of my life. It’s the only way to live! Christ didn’t worry about what the day brought forth. He embraced it….Good and bad.

Living in the “Aware” insures a fulfilling past, pleasant present and a prosperous future.

I challenge each of you, when you wake up in the morning to become aware of what’s happening around you. The sounds, the smells, the sights and embrace them. Most of all I invite you to become aware of those who are around you and embrace them.

Matthew 6:25-34

New International Version (NIV)

Do Not Worry

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?   28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Until the next slip of the tongue, Thank you for visiting “Gullible’s Travels

Regards,

The Loose Cannon

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “~ Be AWARE, don’t beware ~

  1. Stephanie on said:

    This is amazing , this was my goal this year to live in the present . Thank you for posting this! More conformation to let god be in control and live in today

    • I think it’s important to remember that every day. It’s hard to start the day when you’re wary of the day. Let’s try to remember to start the day out wanting to reach someone positively. I’m glad you read the blog. Hopefully it spoke to you in some way 🙂 Stick around … More to come!

  2. This is really great Marc!! Love that you have started blogging! you have great things to offer and share! thank you! your site looks awesome. excited to see how this takes shape for you!

    • Thank You so much! You have been a big inspiration for me in this. I know you don’t know me well…But I have a LOT to say. 🙂 I’m already getting a ton of great feedback and a TON of hits so far. Also, I’ve had several people tell me that what I’ve said has struck them for themselves as well as some that around them. If I’ve reached one person the time it takes to write is well worth it! Thanks for your inspiration and encouragement again!
      M

  3. Decha Millwood on said:

    I love this. 🙂

  4. While I don’t want to admit it, I do live my live in the “Beware” pretty much every day. “Paralyzed by fear ” is a great description. You can ask my children and they will tell you that if I get lost somewhere I panic. It’s really kind of funny because it is so irrational. But I just hate that feeling, the loss of control and direction. That’s how I feel most everyday although I try hard to cover it up. I do this by putting my focus on the needs of others around me. While that may sound noble it really isn’t. It’s easy for me to take care of someone else, it is a lot harder to think about myself and my life. I’m sure there are many people that feel this way. It’s funny, I’m known as the “strong one” in my family. And that’s true, I am strong. I have overcome a lot in my life and through God’s grace and his strength, I will continue to do so. But this gripping fear is always there, underneath it all. I too, want to live in the “Aware”, without fear and appreciating every moment. Being the kind of person that God created me to be. I will strive to do that for myself and for everyone else in my life that I love so very much. My kids, bless them, gave me a tom-tom for Christmas so I wouldn’t get lost on the road anymore. It’s great! Now,I know I need to let go and let God be the navigator in my life! Wish doing it was as easy as saying it. It certainly should be, but to be honest it isn’t. Doesn’t mean I won’t keep trying though! Thanks so much for your post. I am sure it hit home with many, many people.

    • Debi, thanks for the reply. I know exactly where you’re coming from! I always (Well most of the time) look strong but there’s a lot of jello in these knees a lot of the time. It’s funny, it’s easier for me to tell people how messed up I am than to confront some of the silly anxieties I own. Just ridiculous!

      I’m glad I’m striking a note with people so they can realize they are not the only people struggling and that it is possible to overcome 🙂 I believe that’s what I’m called to do!

Leave a Reply

