The Loose Cannon

Just another WordPress.com site

~Morality over Mortality~

As I sit here on the square in my favorite coffee-house, at the corner of Pace and Floyd Streets, in beautiful Downtown Covington, Ga. I’ve had an epiphany. I’ve finally narrowed down just what’s wrong with our country. The quality of life in this country is suffering and it’s suffering for one reason. We live in a country where our values have become:

 

“Mortality over Morality”.

 
What do I mean by that?

 
Think about it for a second – We’ve become a “Me first” society. “We the people” do or say anything to get what we want, as much as we want, as fast as we can and then …………we die. It seems to be a race to death around here. Or maybe we’re already dead on our feet and we’re delaying the inevitable? The fact of the matter is…We choose ourselves instead of choosing others. More on that in a moment.

 
Growing up in the South, I was taught that people were to be treated with respect and to use my gentlemanly manners (Ladies, Southern Charm and Chivalry are not dead). If my Dad ever heard me say “Huh” or “Yeah” to any adult when I was a kid I got the look. My siblings know the look…’Chin down, eyes over the glasses, slightly widened’ to go with a stern tone. I’m still to this day a “Yes Sir, No Sir, Yes Ma’am, No Ma’am, Thank You” kinda fella. Respect is important. VERY important to me. It should be to you as well. NOT just respect for others but for ourselves. For in respecting yourself you learn to respect others and vise versa. I was taught to value people.

 
A few questions I’d like the answers to:

  • When did it become “Okay” and the “Norm” to be vulgar and offensive without losing a tooth or ten?
  • Why have parents seemingly stopped parenting?
  • Why are skinny jeans legal?

I believe that we’ve become so self-involved that we’ve lost our Morality. Our moral fabric is slipping away as fast as the rain forest or the polar ice caps. I don’t know what most people think of when they think of morality… But it starts with respecting others. Regardless of what belief system you belong to, this country WAS founded on Judeo Christian values. Were all of our Fore Fathers Christians? No, no they were not. But there’s not a doubt in my mind their moral fabric was shaped and molded by biblical principles. Simply said, Do unto others and you would have done to you. We simply do not treat each other well. From our language on a city street to our conduct when we drive. We do not treat each other well. From our actions in the grocery store line to how we talk to someone who is waiting our table. WE DO NOT TREAT EACH OTHER WELL!


I believe the value of life, anyone’s life, is their investment in others. Not with how much “STUFF” you acquire, money you make or how many people you take down getting what you want. But how you involve yourself in others. Each of our lives can be more fulfilling and satisfying if we just put ourselves in the back of the line and garner more respect for others. Not only will you respect yourself more and enjoy life more but your legacy will be something to behold. That, my friends, I can promise.

 
The bible tells us to: Love your neighbor as thyself. That’s a powerful statement. There are 2 meanings in this statement…And it’s simple really!

 
1. Love your neighbor

2. Love yourself

 
They come together at a confluence and become the “Golden Rule”. The corner-stone of morality. Treat each other well!

 
In short, our morality has a direct outcome on our lives. How we feel, how we’re treated, how we’re viewed by others and the legacy we’ll leave behind.

 
I choose Morality over mortality


Until the next slip of the tongue, Thank you for visiting “Gullible’s Travels”


Regards,
The Loose Cannon

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “~Morality over Mortality~

  1. Kathy Bullington on said:

    Marc, you are totally on track but I would like to add to your comment of love yourself. We as a society are SO busy making sure everyone else loves us, we forget to love ourselves. This pure and good love which allows peace in our souls only comes from knowing and accepting the gifts from our Creator (who is so uncool according to the world that we trash Him and His name in order to be sure other people love us.)

    • VERY insightful, Kathy. I for one forget to love myself a lot. In fact I beat myself up over things and it holds me back from accomplishing things I know I can accomplish. The passage that tells us that Peter denied Christ before the rooster crows resonates with me and I believe all Christians. I’m not sure why but there are times in each of our lives when we want to seem more worldly and less Godly so people will like us. VERY profound insight there. Thanks for sharing!

  2. bethany on said:

    What’s wrong with skinny jeans? I wear then everyday 😉

  3. Stephanie on said:

    AMEN to all of it , I love your blogs, they suck me in, darn you for that!!! This is what are country is lacking. More importantly the “Christians” that we claim to be! We are supposed to be good to everyone , not just people who are good to us. Hence the “light of the world” comments that jesus puts out there for us. It is hard sometimes to react like we should and just be nice, But we should start treating people with respect on purpose (with the exception of the skinny jeans group)!!!

    • I’m glad you’re liking them. I’m glad they’re resonating with you and others. So far there have been a LOT of people cross this path so far and I’m encouraged that I can reach people. Not only to get my ideas out there but for Christ. To show that he is real. To show that he’s like us in that he’s relational. Not just a ruler…But a Lover all people. I think that’s why we’re so hung up these days. We don’t see the Character in Christ. We just know he reigns.

Leave a Reply

