The Loose Cannon

Just another WordPress.com site

~Embrace your inner Todd Snider!~

Introducing, Mr. Todd Snider

Who in the Sam Hill is Todd Snider?

Well, he’s an American folk artist from Portland, Oregon who is an outstanding story teller, song-writer and he’s even better at being himself. He’s a self admitted less than great musician but he’s got a voice (Which isn’t great), can play 3 or 4 chords on a flat top and I repeat very good at being himself.  *Warning Will Robinson!!!!!! Make no mistake, he’s not a Christian artist so if you do decide to check him out and you hear him slip a foul word in or you hear a remark about right-wing Christians don’t complain just go with it. I was introduced to him years ago while sitting on a porch in Athens, Ga. drinking a Miller Lite and smoking a cigarette by my friend Will Hodges. I was hooked!  His songs are funny, painful, truthful, satirical, political and the stories that go with them are plum GUT-BUSTING Funny. He was influenced by folks like John Prine & Jerry Jeff Walker along with some guy named Tog.

Now I understand that Todd Snider may not be your cup of tea or he may actually offend you in some way. But I don’t mention him in this light. The reason I’ve brought him up is – eccentricities. He’s got  it…This guy is the epitome of eccentric.  Here’s your school lesson for the day.

Definition of ECCENTRIC

1
a : deviating from an established or usual pattern or style<eccentric products>b : deviating from conventional or accepted usage or conduct especially in odd or whimsical ways eccentricmillionaire>
a : deviating from a circular path; especially : elliptical 1<an eccentric orbit>b : located elsewhere than at the geometrical center; also :having the axis or support so located <an eccentric wheel>

I mentioned above that Snider is great at being himself and that is the God’s honest truth. You may say “Loose Cannon, all musicians have the ability to be themselves or they’re all eccentric.” That couldn’t be further from the truth. Look at the modern country artist. In fact look at them all. They’re singing basically the same song over and over and over again…Just in different octaves.  They conform. They’re lead by a ring in the nose to sing what “Nashville” wants to hear. This can be said for basically all forms of music.

Sold out is a term you hear a lot in the music world by those who haven’t made it describing those who have. Todd Snider didn’t sell out and most of you have probably never heard his name. That’s just fine by him. He’s happy being himself.
You can probably already see the writing on the wall here but I want to ask you a question and I want you to truthfully answer it.

 Are you true to yourself or do you conform because that’s what the world expects? Have you really ever embraced your inner Todd Snider? Have you embraced your eccentricities? Chances are the answer is no for the most part.

This blog is personal to me because for so many years I’ve conformed: From what I say to what I wear, from looking for a specific vocation to the car or truck I want to drive. Those are just examples. Don’t get me wrong I have my own taste in clothes, cars, hair, music, women, etc….But I’ve never really let it go. I’ve never let my eccentricities show for fear that it   just    may   not   conform.  This has been somewhat of an epiphany for me this week. I’ve got this person that most people have never seen ready to be shown and I want to let it out.  I have been told on more than one occasion that I dress well and that people like my style.  I do wear the clothes that I like and I do listen to the music I enjoy but that’s not exactly what I’m referring to.

We were created NOT to conform and TO be different. Ever heard the statement “Everyone’s different”…Sure you have. So why are we SO hung up on being the same? I believe it comes down to not really knowing who we are. I took a test this week that outlined my leadership strengths and the test was dead on as to who I am but I really thought I was something different. I thought I was a “Coach” but I’m not…Turns out I’m a “Spokesperson”. Who would thunk it? There are so many things that I really am and I’ve chosen not to embrace because they may not fall in the category of “The Norm”.  I mean what in the world is “The Norm” anywho? That’s not who God intended me to be and it’s not who he intended you to be either. We’re all created with our own personalities, given our on strengths and weaknesses as well as our own skills. He’s gifted each of us with things we were not meant to hold onto.

Look at the people throughout history who played the part of eccentric crazy person. Albert Einstein, Michelangelo, COUNTLESS authors, The Apostle Paul and even Jesus himself. Jesus is the perfect model for being yourself. Never swayed by the world and living the life he was intended to live. Look at the influence these people had on the world. By being who they were inside. They touched countless people in ways most of us only dream about. And you say “Cannon, those people were famous and one of them is God”. So? How do you think they got that way….It wasn’t by conforming to what the “World” says to be.

I’m not simply saying be crazy just to be crazy or wear skinny jeans  because you think it makes you different. I’m saying find out who you are and embrace that person who you have never let the world see. I challenge each of you to reach inside yourself and pull out that person you’ve never let the world around you see. Who knows who you’ll touch…Who know’s what you’ll accomplish….Heck, who knows…It may even make you happy!
So with that being said…Without further ado … Ladies and Gentlemen, Mr. Todd Snider!

Until the next slip of the tongue, Thank You for visiting “Gullible’s Travels”
Regards,
The Loose Cannon
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “~Embrace your inner Todd Snider!~

  1. THAT was well said. I wanna be myself..all the time. Some folks don’t like that. Heck, I don’t always like it. But I’m caught between “being myself” and “transforming to the likeness of Christ”. And yup..he was def eccentric. Thanks for this post..now I’m gonna go out and rob the bank that is within 20 miles of my house.
    HA!

Leave a Reply

