The Loose Cannon

Just another WordPress.com site

~So ya say you wanna be a long haul trucker~

RANDOM THOUGHTS HEAD

When I was a kid growing up in Conyers, Ga. some of my fondest memories were of vacations my family took. The Georgia Coast, Charleston S.C., Washing D.C., the Great Smokey Mountains, Walt Disney World in Orlando to name a few. I remember not sleeping waiting to leave, usually before the sun came up and piling into the car headed to our destination. I absolutely dreaded the ride to and from  wherever our trek was taking us.  DREADED! For what usually seemed like days didn’t really take that long but the seconds felt like minutes and the minutes felt like hours.

The one and only thing I looked forward to about the drive was giving the truck drivers “Tha Signal”…..Y’all know “Tha Signal”. If you say you didn’t do it too, you’re lying. It’s the one when you’re passing a Peterbilt or a Kenworth pulling a long white box down that white line and you’re in the back seat pumping your arm Up and Down with untold vigor to get the driver to notice you and  blow that horn!

MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!! MAAAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was like victory for some reason. The jubilation in the car was usually short-lived but it soon was replaced with the anticipation of the next truck.  I have a twin sister and we usually sat in the same seat when we went anywhere. I was lucky…I sat in the passenger side behind my Mom and I was on the front row of the most exciting show on the road.  These days most of us usually give those truckers another signal but we won’t get into that today.

Now it wasn’t just “The Signal” that excited me but the trucks themselves. I honestly didn’t give the operators much thought at all. But there was something that dazzled me when I was a kid about a Tractor Trailer Truck. The size, the power, the sound, how they all lit up like a Christmas tree at night. Man, they were just plum Cool!  They were the invincible monsters of the roadway. The thought of driving one across the country seemed like a dream job. Heck, even sitting in one when I was a kid would have been cooler than ice cream. I knew that’s what I wanted to be when I grew up: A Long Haul Trucker.

When I was 7……

I’m not sure why this came to mind and how it manifested into this thought but the thought of being an over the road trucker today sounds so unappealing.  It’s not my bag       at         all.  Seeing the country would be great … BUT, the endless miles of sitting and being alone most of the time would just be a drain on the mind, body and soul. Now I’m not knocking truck drivers in any way shape or form. We need them…They’re an American Institution.  I have friends that do it and love it…It’s just not for me.

Like I said I’m not sure how this thought or correlation came to be but this past Saturday night while laying in bed it popped in my head “Man, this life sure is like being a ‘Long Haul Trucker’  sometimes”….Out of no where.  As a matter of fact I was thinking about how I’d like to be in Key West…The two aren’t remotely connected.  That seems to be how my brain operates – Metaphorical manifestations of strange correlating thoughts. It’s a gift,,,, I think. Anywho, I sort of opened my eyes a reflected on how we all can probably relate to this metaphor.

Think about it a second and climb up into the drivers seat of the cab and tell me if this doesn’t sound familiar (No matter your walk of life).

 Look at all them gauges !

It’s amazing at how our daily lives compare to the job of a Long Haul Trucker. We’re mirror images for the most part of the roll of the trucker. They’re vital to a company-We’re vital to our families, friends, Church and our employers. The trucker logs mile after mile 12 hours at the time to meet their deadlines – We have deadlines on a daily basis and some of us rack up more commitments than we can possibly handle. Truckers spend a lot of time alone – Some of us spend a lot of time alone physically but I’d be willing to bet that a lot of us spend a lot of time feeling alone even in a crowd. A trucker sees a ton of beautiful scenery but operating a vehicle that size is a ton of responsibility and doesn’t get to fully enjoy his surroundings – We’re surrounded by beauty and God’s creation every day but we usually don’t stop to enjoy it because we’re “Busy”.  Truckers log hundreds of thousands of miles a year in their rig but I’m sure they could only recall a fraction of those miles – We are in the race of life and we’re so busy we know where we’ve been, we know where we are and we haven’t the slightest clue how we got here…I know I don’t. It’s eerily similar to me. And I know you might think this is a strange comparison to make in a blog. But it’s just what’s on my mind. I could go on and on with comparisons about the rules of the road and whatnot but for the sake of time I’ll only make one more comparison and save y’all the little stuff.

The one thing that really stood out to me is the load. Think about the load they haul…It’s enormous, it’s a strain going up hills, it’s tough to brake going down hills, sometimes the trucker knows what he’s hauling … Sometimes he don’t.  Strap your Pontiac up to a full trailer and see how far you get.  The load we carry is enormous as well. It’s a strain going up hills and it’s tough braking coming down those hills. Sometimes we carry our own load and sometimes we carry burdens we’re not supposed to. The tractor trailer truck as well as the driver takes a beating. It’s NOT an easy vocation and it’s not easy on the machine.

BUT, there’s good news. The truck is designed and engineered for those type loads. They can pull 55,000 lbs across the continental divide. IT’s what they’re made for.  To pull and carry and pull and carry some more. Those trucks outlast domestic vehicles 10/1.  That’s how they were designed. And operating them carries a TON of pressure as well.  Think about towing 55,000 pounds down through the Rockies. Whew! That would make me a nervous wreck.

There’s more good news! God has designed us similarly to that rig. We’re built to carry heavy loads….We were built to ENDURE! Say that with me: We were built to ENDURE! Again, we were built to ENDURE! The every day loads we carry in life are heavy, the burdens are a strain and once they start rolling down hill they’re hard to brake sometimes. Well, all the time. The Good news is that we have an engineer that can steer us through and around the hills and curvy roads of our continental divides, Jesus.  Every trial, tribulation and catastrophe we drive through in life we are built to endure!

So without even realizing it I’m living out a childhood dream…………………………………..Kinda.

2 Corinthians 6:4

but as servants of God we commend ourselves in every way: by great endurance, in afflictions, hardships, calamities

Colossians 1:11

May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy

I do realize this is a fairly random topic and comparison and I do appreciate you reading if you made it this far. After contemplating this for a while I couldn’t help but let it spill out. Anytime I can spend some time in my childhood I relish it. So thank you for taking that journey with me today…Through my childhood and through the clouds that are my thoughts.

Until the next slip of the tongue, Thank You for visiting “Gullible’s Travels”.

Regards,

The Loose Cannon

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

