The Loose Cannon

Just another WordPress.com site

~When life hands you Lemons, make Taco Salad~

Please allow me to share something before we get to the meat of my blog. I wrote it yesterday afternoon and there were some things on my heart this morning I just had to share. So thank you for your time and patience.

This morning I woke up and there were several people on my mind. Some people are doing well and some are not. Some are like me searching for vocation and direction in life…Some are not. Some are happy and some are sad. Since I started this blog I have had a good many people reach out to me for advice. Everything from loneliness to how to witness to a nonbeliever to just having questions about their own direction. Believe it or not I’ve started some sort of Blog revolution. There are a lot of my friends who are telling me they’re going back to the writing in their blog and a good many people starting their own because of this blog. Which is a surprise to me. It’s flattering but it’s surprising.

I’m really happy that people are somewhat relating and are able to wade through these goofy thoughts of mine. There are more of those below so read on. It’s my way of trying to relate and my way of trying to say “Hey, let’s look at things differently from the way we always do and see if that changes our patterns a little and helps us out of a particular rut we’ve been in”. Because we’re ALLLL in some sort of rut.

Anyway, I got an email this morning from a friend who asked me for prayers and I’m glad to do so.  It breaks my heart sometimes to hear a friend is hurting and there isn’t anything I can do but pray. I know that’s no small thing…Actually it’s the best thing for a friend in need. Life isn’t always a bowl of sugar, we know that. It’s hard and it’s painful and it’s a pain in the proverbial rump! So I’d just like for you to know that if you need some prayer or uplifting in any way … I’m right here. You can email me privately, hit me up on facebook or if you have my number text or call. I’m happy to help in any way. Even if you don’t believe in any way shape or form I’ll still pray for you and I’ll still try to help you in any way I can if you’re hurting. I’m an equal opportunity advice giver, encourager and I just plain out Love people.

I wrote the blog entry below yesterday afternoon with a friend in mind. He’s a great guy and I’ve enjoyed being his friend. I usually don’t call people out a lot like this but I don’t have a lot of friends like him. He’s probably the most positive person I know. Willing to help in any way possible. He’s a great family man and just a plain out good guy. This world would be a 1,000 % better off if there were more “Duck” McGiboneys around.  So without further ado…

~When life hands you Lemons, make Taco Salad~

HOLY SWEET MOTHER OF HEY SEUSS!

I can’t help it…Tacos are freakin DELICIOUS!

I mean WHO doesn’t like a taco?

The taco has to be one of the greatest culinary inventions to have ever graced this planet. It’s right up there with pizza, the cheese burger, spam, Foie gras creamy chicken Ramen Noodles, spicy pork skins, caviar and the french fry. If you do not agree then you don’t have to stop reading but I’ve lost a ton of respect for your taste bud’s flavoring prowess.

And when I say a taco I don’t mean just a little meat, a few strands of lettuce and a sprinkle of cheese. Similar to what you’d get at Taco Bell…I’m talking about a hard shell, packed full of meat, lettuce, tomatoes, cheese and a healthy helping of sour cream…And then to top it off like a cherry…Hot sauce.  It’s got to have the spice…It’s one of the most important ingredients in that entirely blissful creation. While this is not the original way the taco was prepared it’s the correct way. The taco actually predates the European expansion to the New World. However, in the early 40’s the hard-shell taco was first served and this culinary phenomenon was born!

When I make tacos at home 3 tacos usually does me good… but I’ve eaten as many as 6 in one sitting. Prepared just as I stated above…Yes, yes…My mouth is watering too. The prep work and building of your tacos is really where the fun is. I warm my shells in the oven, cook whatever meat I have chosen (Usually shredded goat) with the right amount of taco seasoning (Store bought is fine or you can make your own), shred some iceberg lettuce and dice a tomato. Some folks add a hot pepper or two and that’s perfectly okay with me.

Building a taco is a tenuous yet satisfying task. Trying to fill that hard fragile shell with as much deliciousness as you can is quite a challenge. There is the fear of snapping the shell. It’s a true tragedy when this happens. So be careful. I’m not particular in how mine is constructed as far as the layers go…It just has to be FULL!

There’s also a proper way to eat a taco: Placing the right hand over the end furthest away from your mouth. Elbow out and up…Tilting the head to the side and taking the first bite with that tell tell sound of (((((((((CRUNCH))))))))) and then, with your eyes closed, grease inevitably runs down the left side of your face.  Blissful ain’t it ! That first bite is right on time! Just what the doctor ordered! The coup d’état of  your taste buds! There is nothing quite like it in the world. You prepare, you build and then you enjoy what you’ve worked so hard for. This is the main reason I love cooking SO much.

But what happens when things don’t go right? What happens when you get the dreaded ((((GASP)))) – Broken Taco?

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

You know what I’m talking about: The first bite or maybe the second and the whole thing folds up like a cheap suit! KABLOOIE! Taco is everywhere. Most of the time it’s salvageable in some way but there are times when not all of your taco is eatable at this point. My spirits are usually deflated when the broken taco rears it’s ugly head. The other tacos lose their novelty…At this point there is nothing left to do but smash the other tacos or what’s left of the broken taco up into a taco salad. I guess you could eat the remaining tacos hoping they won’t break but once the fork comes out…..I’m done. But there’s good news…I happen to LOVE taco salad as well.

So, you’re probably thinking what the flip, Cannon? Where is the encouragement in a freaking blog about a broken taco…A BROKEN TACO!? That’s entirely too depressing for a Tuesday. I know I know…I have a little bit different perspective on life and the way I look at things…So, I’ll tell ya…Life is like those tacos. I do this a lot in life. I work on something and build it up only to have it go KABLOOIE! on me….Right there at the verge of attaining that goal or big business deal or whatever I had been working towards. The euphoria is gone, the pleasure is gone….We’ve all been there. We’ll all break our taco shells again.

There is a saying “When life gives you Lemons, make lemonade”…………  I don’t like lemonade.

But I do Love a good taco. So, when life breaks your taco, make taco salad.

When that proverbial taco shell breaks we have 2 choices:

  1. We can choose to let it get us down and not have any enjoyment whatsoever.
  2. We can choose to adapt and make the best of the situation.

Easier said then done I know. Failures in life are what paralyze me the most. It’s been up until this past year that I’ve really learned to let God have control of some of those fears. It’s been extremely hard and if I’m honest I still have a few … Well, a lot that I’m still clinging onto with white knuckles. But I have seen the fruits of surrendering my fears to the good Lord. I tell ya it’s not easy but when you can specifically see God’s hand wipe a slate clean in your life it becomes a little easier to deal with the next time you break that taco shell.

Isaiah 41:10 fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Deuteronomy 31:6 Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”

That says it all!

So, who wants a Taco?

Thank you once again for joining me on the daily journey through this clouded mind I’m blessed with.

Until the next slip of the tongue, Thank You for Visiting “Gullible’s Travels”

Regards,

The Loose Cannon

This blog entry was inspired by my good friend Daniel “Duck” McGiboney. “Wolfpack Forever”!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “~When life hands you Lemons, make Taco Salad~

  1. Connie on said:

    Very well said my friend!

  2. Michelle M. on said:

    Amen! I am so thankful and blessed to have Mr. McGiboney as a huge part of my life 🙂

  3. Daniel on said:

    Thanks Marc, I’ve always had attitude towards life but I’ve never heard it explained as perfectly as that. I’ve had to eat “taco salad” several times in life and I’ve loved every bit of it. Cause as you know l love tacos….. yeah!
    Love you man! Wolfpack forever!

  4. I’ve been reading your blog and it is inspiring, you definitely got a gift there! I love your blog title/psuedo-name too- I work in the schools and it’s one of the idioms I’ve been teaching. 🙂

    • Thank you Megan, I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog so far. Please stick around because we’re going to start integrating in some sticky issues over the next couple of days. I’m sure there is bound to be plenty of finger pointing going on. I hope some encouragement and inspiration to look at things in a different light as well. Thank you for your comment and I’m glad you like the name. It fits me 🙂

Leave a Reply

